Croatia: adoption of the Euro and entry into the Schengen Area

On 1 January 2023, Croatia officially adopted the Euro, thus becoming the 20th member of the Eurozone and the 27th nation to join the Schengen Area.

Although Croatia joined the European Union almost ten years ago, they decided to keep the national currency, the Kuna. Nevertheless, as early as September 2022, it was made compulsory to display prices of goods in both Kuna and Euro. This obligation will remain in force until the end of 2023. Moreover, Croatian people may continue to pay in Kuna until 14 January 2023, taking into account the conversion rate set at 7.53450 Kuna per 1 Euro.

In addition, thanks to joining the Schengen Free Movement Area, quite a few barriers have been broken, amongst which the most important are:

  • the abolition of controls at land borders between Slovenia and Croatia, and between Slovenia and Hungary; and
  • the abolition of controls at at sea borders with Italy.

As the 27th State in the Schengen Area, it will also be allowed to travel freely without a passport between Member States.

Contact Studio A&P